BSA Scuba Merit Badge

Helpful Information


Learn to Dive

If you want to learn to SCUBA dive and experience a whole new world underwater, now is a great time to learn.

PADI is the most widely recognized name in SCUBA training and has developed an instructional program that is comprehensive and enjoyable. The training program will make you a competent diver and works well for adults and children as young as 10 years old.

The Open Water certification training consists of several parts.
1. You will read through a student manual, watch some videos and answer some questions on Knowledge Reviews.
2. We go over the Knowledge Reviews during a classroom session and discuss other SCUBA topics.
3. We go to a local pool and practice skills with SCUBA equipment to prepare you for open water training.
4. We go to a local lake or quarry to perform skills and demonstrate you are comfortable SCUBA diving.

Although this is the usual way people get certified, items 1 and 2 can be done online through PADI's eLearning program. Item 4 is sometimes done during a vacation to a tropical location, such as the Caribbean. You will find that the Caribbean is warmer and has better visibility than the local lakes and quarries.

Regardless of your situation, there is a way to get you certified for SCUBA Diving.

Here are some of the requirements for getting SCUBA certified.
1. You must be 10 years old or older.
2. You may need a medical form signed by a doctor if you have one or more medical conditions listed on the medical form.

What you will be able to do:
1. You will receive a PADI Certification Card. PADI is the most widely recognized SCUBA training organization in the world.
2. You will be able to buy/rent SCUBA equipment and get air tank fills.
3. You will be able to dive to 60' depth (40' if you are under age 14).
4. You earn a college credit for completing your certification.

Further Training. There are many continuing education courses that you can take. See classes that I am able to teach on the "Classes" page. I recommend all divers should take at least the two following classes after their Open Water Certification.
1. Advanced Open Water (AOW). The AOW class allows you to go as deep as 130' and gives you more experience diving while under the supervision of an instructor.
2. Peak Performance Buoyancy (PPB). The PPB class emphasizes proper weighting, trim and streamlining your equipment. It focuses on making you a better diver and protecting the underwater environment.

[ Home | Learn to Dive | Classes | About Me | Contact Me | Pics/Vids ]

This web site created and maintained by Modern Digital Technologies, LLC.
© 2012 Modern Digital Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Check out some of PADI's recently added specialties:
Self-Reliant Diver
Tec Basics
AWARE Shark Conservation

If you are interested in a class and you don't see it scheduled, just go to the Contact Me page and let me know what class you would like to take.

Protect Sharks